Pound Cake

I have to admit, until the other day I had never before made a pound cake. For no reason at all I had imagined them to be difficult and use up lots of ingredients.

How silly! This pound cake came together so quickly I had to check to make sure that I didn’t forget anything. When it was finished baking and we sliced it up, I couldn’t believe how light it was! The pound cakes I’ve purchased for years from the grocery store (both frozen and bakery) have always been very dense and dry. This one, while still being dense, was also airy in a way that made it feel like a cross between a typical cake and a pound cake. Kind of hard to describe, but if you make it you’ll know what I mean. Also, the outside browns up quite a bit and the crust looks too dark, but trust me that it’s great. It’s not burnt, those edges aren’t crunchy as they appear to be – they taste like a sugar cookie.

I wish I’d gotten a picture before we sliced it and served it up with strawberries and homemade whipped cream, but unfortunately I did not. Next time!

1 cup softened butter

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

3 eggs

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/3 cup milk

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1) Cream the butter until it is light and fluffy, then add the sugar and whip for about 5 minutes.

2) Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each one.

3) Add the flour and milk alternately, beginning and ending with flour. Stir in the vanilla.

4) Spread into a 9×5″ loaf pan and bake for about 1 hour at 350°.

Tip: If you double the recipe it’ll fit perfectly into a 10″ tube pan.

I saw another recipe that used a cup of slivered almonds (run through the food processor) in place of some of the flour. That would add a really yummy flavor.

Leave a Reply

