Confetti Rice

I normally shy away from rice pilaf at restaurants because it always winds up being overly dry rice with raw crunchy veggies. Not appetizing. However, for some reason (I blame pregnancy hormones) I was craving some. Actually, I think I was wanting some fried rice but without the usual eggs and I wasn’t feeling the soy sauce either. Hmm, I guess that’s more or less rice pilaf. Except… I want a good one!

1 cup brown rice, uncooked

2 Tbl. olive oil

1/3 cup onion, minced or shredded (I used 2 Tbl. of dried minced onion and steeped them in 4 Tbl. water until they soaked up all the water, worked like a charm!)

1-2 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup carrot, diced

2-3 Tbl. butter

1 cup frozen peas

salt and pepper to taste (I used 1/4 tsp. salt and 1/8 tsp. pepper)

1) Cook the rice per the package directions.

2) Saute the onion and garlic in the olive oil. Once the onion takes on just a bit of color, add the carrot. Saute for a bit longer until the carrots soften just a touch but still have a little bite to them.

3) Add 2 Tbl. of butter and allow to melt in the pan. Pour in the peas. Once the rice is cooked, add the rice to the pan and stir to combine. If you think your rice needs more butter, add another tablespoon and stir until it melts in. Salt and pepper to taste.

 

I was really pleasantly surprised with how this turned out. It was very tasty and had a much lighter flavor than our favorite fried rice that I often make. The rice remained nice and moist and the veggies kept their flavor without being left raw or overcooked and shriveled. If I’d had some frozen corn I’d have thrown a little of that in there as well (about 1/2 cup or so since corn tends to be so sweet). I hope you enjoy our Confetti Rice as much as we did!

Leave a Reply

