Enchiladas with Homemade Sauce

I LOVE enchiladas, a whole lot. Whenever we go to eat Mexican food I almost always get enchiladas. Sometimes I want some crunch and get taquitos or flautas instead, but enchiladas are still #1 in my book. To me, red sauce is best, I’m not a big fan of the verde sauce with sour cream. I also prefer my sauce smooth, not chunky, so I use all powdered seasonings instead of chopped or minced.

Here is my recipe for the best sauce as well as some simple step-by-step photos, just in case you’ve never made enchiladas yourself before.

1 (15 oz.) can of tomato sauce

1 (6 oz.) can of tomato paste

1 1/2 tbsp. chili powder

3 tsp. onion powder

1 tsp. garlic powder

1/2 tsp. dried oregano

1/4 tsp. salt

1) Heat the above ingredients in a sauce pot over medium heat until it is warmed through.

2) Turn your oven on 375° and coat a 9×13″ baking dish with non-stick spray.

10 tortillas (I use the 6″ fajita size)

4 cups of shredded cheese **

3) Dollop a little bit of warm (not scalding hot) sauce into a tortilla and spread it around.

4) Add about 1/3 cup of shredded cheese to the center, fold over one side of the tortilla and roll the other side around. Don’t worry about rolling it super tight or beautifully, it’ll loosen once you lay it into the pan and bake it.

5) Lay the enchilada into the pan with the seam side down to keep it rolled up. Using the 6″ tortillas in my 9×13″ pan, I snuggle 8 enchiladas lengthwise and then tuck another 2 along the side to fill up the pan. If you use a different size pan or tortillas, you’ll have to figure out the placement on your own, this works for us because it fills the pan and is the perfect protion size for our family (grown-ups get 2 each and the kids each get 1, no leftovers though).

6) Cover the enchiladas with the remaining sauce and top with the leftover 2/3 cup of cheese. Bake at 375° for 20-25 minutes.

Sorry, I forgot to get a picture before digging in. Ignore that big bite out of the corner. Yummy!

** I also like to use less cheese (about 2 cups) when I have some leftover beef roast or shredded chicken to use up. However, I don’t like to hide veggies or other toppings inside since not everyone in my family loves peppers, chopped onions, olives, or whatever else. Those kinds of things are reserved for optional toppings once plates are served.

Leave a Reply

