Uno’s-Style Pizza Skins

When we lived in Southern California, I could visit a nearby Pizzeria Uno’s (now it’s called Uno Chicago Grill) anytime I happened to be in San Diego/Escondido. Out here in Alabama, there isn’t a local Uno’s franchise for over 400 miles. 😦 That’s a little far to drive for dinner.

My favorite thing to eat there, aside from their fabulous deep dish pizza, was their Pizza Skins. A pizza joint’s take on potato skins. Delicious mashed potatoes baked in Uno’s famous biscuity deep dish crust, topped with cheese and bacon. Could it get any better? I think not.

Uno's original Pizza Skins

Missing this meal-sized appetizer like you wouldn’t believe, I decided to take matters into my own hands and recreate it myself. Here’s how I do it:

  • Overnight Deep Dish Pizza Crust
  • Island Honey’s Garlic Mashed Potatoes (I prefer to leave the skins on for this application, but peel them if you’d rather)
  • 1 – 1 1/2 cups shredded cheese (my family likes colby jack, but feel free to use mozzarella, cheddar or a mixture of whatever you like)
  • 1 pound diced and crisped bacon
  • parmesan cheese, to taste

1) 24 hours beforehand, prepare the pizza dough as the linked recipe instructs.

2) 1 hour before meal time, remove the dough from the refrigerator and allow to rest at room temperature. While it rests: preheat the oven, cook the bacon, and make the mashed potatoes.

3) Shape the crust in the deep dish pan. (*Tip: Grease the bottom of your pan with regular olive oil, not non-stick spray. However, don’t grease the sides, the dough will slip down instead of baking up tall.) The recipe above makes a dough ball large enough for a 15″ deep dish pan. The largest I have is a 10″ spring form pan, so I used about 2/3 of the dough this time and saved the rest to make breadsticks to go with tomorrow’s dinner.

4) Par-bake the crust for 15-20 minutes.

5) Remove from the oven and sprinkle with a heaping handful of cheese. Dollop the warm mashed potatoes into the crust and spread evenly. Sprinkle with remaining shredded cheese and bacon. Top with about 2 tbl. of parmesan cheese.

6) Return to the oven for 5-10 minutes, until the potatoes are heated through, cheese is melted, and crust is golden brown.

7) Brush the crust edges with 1 tbl. of melted butter (trust me, such a small amount of butter makes a big difference). Remove pizza from the pan to a cutting board. Slice and serve with sour cream, chives, and whatever else you like with your loaded baked potatoes. A nice cold salad would make a very good accompaniment to this dish if you intend to serve it as a meal.

Jen's version of Pizza Skins

This 10-inch monster is so delicious. I really can’t explain how wonderful it is. This is another “several of my favorite things in one dish” kind of meals and I’m so glad the rest of my family likes it too, or else I’d be forced to make mini-versions in a cupcake tin. Hmm, I wonder if they’d freeze well?

A heaping portion of awesome.

My family of 5 polished off half of this 10″ size, and we were totally stuffed. So stuffed that I’m doubting we have enough room left for dessert, and we always have room for dessert. You could easily chop this recipe in half if you have a 5 or 6″ pan. For us, there will be leftovers which I am excited to have for breakfast or lunch on Monday. 😉

Leave a Reply

