Wean Me Gently

by Cathy Cardall
_______________________________________________________________

I know I look so big to you,

Maybe I seem too big for the needs I have.

But no matter how big we get,

We still have needs that are important to us.

I know that our relationship is growing and changing,

But I still need you. I need your warmth and closeness,

Especially at the end of the day

When we snuggle up in bed.

Please don’t get too busy for us to nurse.

I know you think I can be patient,

Or find something to take the place of a nursing;

A book, a glass of something,

But nothing can take your place when I need you.

Sometimes just cuddling with you,

Having you near me is enough.

I guess I am growing and becoming independent,

But please be there.

This bond we have is so strong and so important to me,

Please don’t break it abruptly.

Wean me gently,

Because I am your mother,

And my heart is tender.

_______________________________________________________________

I really needed to read this poem. A fellow breastfeeding mom posted it on a forum that I belong to online. I’ve never met her, but boy am I ever grateful to her for sharing it.

I’ve been trying to start weaning Jesse for several weeks now with little success. I tried “cold turkey” and all that got us was a lot of crying (on both our parts). I’ve been feeling just “done” with breastfeeding lately and I wanted to end this on a good note. There are days when he’s happy with nursing only before naps and bedtime, but then there are days where he needs me seemingly all day long. Then of course there are other days when he falls asleep in his high chair or with Daddy and doesn’t need me at all. I guess this is how it’s going to go for us. Eventually it’ll dawn on me suddenly that it’ll have been several days since we last nursed and I’ll be sad for this piece of our relationship to be over. At least that’s how I’m hoping it’ll go.

Leave a Reply

