Dinner in a Hurry

It’s evenings like this when I am REALLY glad that I made a menu plan earlier in the week. Jason has line crew duty at work tonight, which usually means dinner at 7:00 or so instead of the normal 6ish. Since I was planning dinner at 7, I was spending a little extra time knitting on a new project.

Surprise surprise! At 5:13 I got a text message telling me that Jason’s dinner break was going to be at 5:30 instead. Oh no! All I had done to prep for dinner at that point was take the ground beef out of the freezer to thaw. I could have easily picked up the phone and called the pizza man to deliver, but keeping our budget in mind I flew into quick cooking mode.

Just about a half an hour later we had a scratch-made dinner on the table. Hamburger steaks, mashed potatoes, and seasoned corn. Yum! The only shortcut I took was leaving the skins on the potatoes instead of peeling them. We happen to like our mashed spuds a little rustic anyway, not to mention all the vitamins and flavor in the skins! 🙂

Dinner wasn’t anything special and it certainly wasn’t gourmet – but it was tasty, filling, and homemade. Those are the three most important things to me when I make a meal. We are very blessed to live close to Jason’s work and that he chooses to spend his meal breaks at home with us rather than in the galley or drive-thru line. The least I can do is make sure there is a homemade meal waiting for him when he gets here.

Luckily, tonight’s dinner happened to be one that I could make from start to finish within 30 minutes. Other nights I have meals planned that take more time. If this had happened on those nights I could have swapped meal plans from different nights – it’s very handy having planned for a whole week at once.

I know some people have done the work to do some freezer cooking and have meals waiting in the freezer for just these type of nights.  I have grand plans for a freezer cooking day in my future, but it hasn’t happened yet unfortunately.

What do you do in this situation? Do you have any freezer meals ready to go, a couple of go-to meals that you can make in a flash, or do you have several take-out menus hanging out by the phone?

Leave a Reply

