Lemon Herb Baked Chicken

I’m weird, I know. Chicken on the bone freaks me out. No one in my household enjoys the dark meat. So, cooking a whole chicken just sounds entirely unappealing to me. I understand that cooking whole chickens saves money for a lot of people, but for my family so much would go to waste that it’s not worth it. We buy our chicken breasts from Sam’s Club in a big bag, boneless, skinless, and cut into roughly 5-ounce portions. It cuts down on a lot of my work when prepping meals.

Anyway, I got off on a little tangent there. I’ve been eyeballing this recipe on Pioneer Woman’s website for quite a while now: Pastor Ryan’s Herb Roasted Whole Chicken. Unfortunately, this is for a whole chicken. As I said, I’m not feeling the whole chickens. But the thing is that the flavor combination going on here sounded delicious and every time I look at the photos it makes my mouth water. So, I finally got around to fooling around with my spice cupboard and achieved what I think is a reasonable facsimile of Pastor Ryan’s chicken using my favorite chicken breast portions. I hope you enjoy!

1 Tbl. rosemary, chopped
1 Tbl. rubbed sage
1 tsp. onion powder
1 tsp. garlic powder
1 Tbl. salt
1 tsp. pepper
2 tsp. canola oil
3 tsp. lemon juice

Mix it all together, rub onto 5 frozen, boneless, skinless chicken breasts, both sides.
Bake for 30-35 minutes at 375 degrees. Flip them halfway through the baking time.

I left mine in the oven after I turned the heat off. It gave them a nice little bit of crispiness that they didn’t have when I checked them for doneness.

The family all really enjoyed this chicken. We all thought it tasted very light and summery. I like that adding the lemon juice to the herb mixture allowed me to cut back on the oil. As I was enjoying my meal I thought about how great this would taste grilled instead of baked! As soon as Jason gets our propane tank refilled we’re trying it out. Yum!

One thought on “Lemon Herb Baked Chicken

Leave a Reply

