Light Fruity Frosting

When browsing recipes to use for the wedding cake, I couldn’t decide between a few and decided to just combine the parts I liked best about each one. The result turned out delicious and so much lighter than a traditional buttercream.

Don’t get me wrong, I love buttercream frosting like you wouldn’t believe. But the weather here in Mobile is still hot hot hot and I was worried about a buttercream frosting melting away. So I chose to make one with incredients that wouldn’t droop.

Fruity frosting on a wedding cake.

Whip together 2 cups of vegetable shortening, 1/2 cup powdered non-dairy creamer (i.e. Coffee Mate), and 1 teaspoon of almond extract. Get this nice and smooth. One of the recipes called for vanilla, but since I was changing things around I decided that I didn’t want the fruity flavor that we’ll add shortly to be covered up by a heavy vanilla extract. Almond extract did a great job at brightening the fruity flavor without covering it up.

Sift 4 cups (one 32-ounce package) of powdered sugar. If you’ve ever made frosting before you well know that if you don’t sift the sugar first you will never ever get the lumps out of your frosting later. Add the sifted sugar to the shortening mixture about 1/2 cup at a time and really get it mixed in well before adding more.

Now, take a can of standard fruit cocktail. Drain it of it’s juice (light syrup is okay too, but not heavy syrup). You’re only going to use the juice in this recipe, so just keep the fruit in the fridge and have it with lunch or something later. 😉 Pour 1/2 cup of the liquid into the frosting and whip it up really good. If you want a thick frosting that will look beautiful on cakes and cookies, then go with just the 1/2 cup of liquid. If you’d rather have it thinner and more like a glaze, bump up the liquid to 3/4 cup.

This is how it will look with 1/2 cup of light syrup.

This recipe makes enough to crumb-coat and fully frost two 9″ triple-layer cakes. That’s a lot of frosting! When I made these four wedding cakes, I needed two batches of frosting. It would be simple to halve this recipe to use on just a single family-sized cake or cupcakes, but any leftover frosting would keep fresh in the refrigerator for a few months (or spread it on some graham crackers for a sweet treat!). Just bring it up to room temperature again before trying to spread it. If you’d like to use it for piping, take it straight from the fridge into your piping bag. It’ll pipe better when it’s chilled.

Enjoy! This is very versatile and I’m sure my husband would love me a little extra if I make him a batch with some of the maraschino cherry juice that I saved when I used up all of his favorite cherries the other day. Aside from giving it a sweet cherry flavor, I bet it would be a lovely color! Maraschino pink isn’t very manly, so maybe I’d need to add some food coloring to make it redder. If you are a die-hard chocolate frosting fiend, You could substitute cocoa powder for 1/2 – 1 cup of the powdered sugar and use water or simple syrup instead of fruit cocktail juice. I wonder what other variations I can come up with? I’ll think on that. 🙂

Leave a Reply

