Homemade Garlic Pepper Seasoning

As I’ve mentioned before, garlic pepper seasoning blend is my favorite “go to” bottle in my spice cabinet. It tastes great to spice up some burgers, sprinkle on chicken in the skillet, even on top of corn on the cob or baked potatoes. We love garlic at our house, and pretty much every main dish I make has some good old black pepper in it. This seasoning blend just kicks it all up a notch.

So, why am I lamenting on and on about a little bottle of spices? Because I’ve concocted a homemade version. The little 2.5 oz. bottle at the store runs between $4-5 depending on the brand and I think that’s just silly. When I realized I was running low I looked at the ingredients on the back of the bottle and thought “Well now, I have all of those things already!” We’ve gotten into the habit of stocking up on bulk spices at Sam’s Club. Instead of replacing an empty tiny bottle of $5 seasoning with another little one, we get a huge 16-oz. bottle for between $2-4 at Sam’s Club. I’ve found the quality to be right on with the pricy name brands.

Anyhow, on to the ingredients for Garlic Pepper Seasoning…

2 teaspoons Garlic Powder

2 teaspoons Black Pepper

1 teaspoon Brown Sugar

1/2 teaspoon Cumin

1/2 teaspoon Salt

1/2 teaspoon Onion Powder

1/4 teaspoon Paprika

1/4 teaspoon dried Parsley

This makes a little over 1 ounce of seasoning blend. Double it and you can fill up that pricey little 2.5 ounce brand name shaker bottle. 😉

Leave a Reply

