Yummy Meatloaf

First, let me preface all of this by saying “I don’t like meatloaf.” I really don’t. In all of my nearly 29 years I have tried it numerous times and have never enjoyed it. After much deliberation, Jason decided that the reason I didn’t enjoy traditional meatloaf is because I was getting hung up on the eggs and squishy bread of it all. I just can’t do it.

However, in recent months I have experimented with making our own meatballs instead of buying them frozen from the grocery store. My version came out just as good, if not better than the mass-produced kind. Then I figured that if I can enjoy meatballs, I can transport the same basic idea to a loaf form and like it as well. Jason and Frank both love meatloaf, and I very much wanted to be able to make it for them and enjoy it too.

Here we go, delicious meatloaf without all the bread…

1 pound ground beef

1/2 cup oats (it’s what I use in my meatballs, and they basically disappear within the meat)

1/2 tsp. seasoned salt (we love Lawry’s around here)

1 tsp black pepper

1 Tbl. dried parsley (or a small-ish handful of fresh parsley)

2 Tbl. dried chopped onion (or about 1/2 of a fresh onion minced up small)

1/2 tsp. garlic powder

1/2 cup parmesan cheese

1 egg, beaten (I know I said I don’t like the eggyness, but it needs just one to hold it all together)

3/4 cup milk

Toss everything in a bowl and either do it the way my grandmother did and mash it around with your hands (eew!) or like me and just use a big spoon to stir it well until everything is combined and distributed evenly.

Dump out the mixture onto a cookie sheet (one with sides please, not the flat kind) and form it into a log. The pan I used in this picture is 9″ x 13″. I’d approximate that my loaf was about 5″ x 9″ because it didn’t take up all of the pan. That’d be like a weird meat sheet cake and I really don’t want to go there.

Mix up the following:

3/4 cup ketchup

3 Tbl. brown sugar

1/2 tsp. dry mustard

1/2 tsp. chili powder (or kick it up to cayenne pepper if you want some heat)

Spread 3 tablespoons over the top of the meatloaf and bake it at 350° for 30 minutes.

Spread another 3 tablespoons over the top and sides of the partially-baked meatloaf and bake it for another 20 minutes.

Allow the meatloaf to rest for a few minutes before you slice into it. Serve the remaining sauce alongside for dipping or warmed up on top.

This went over REALLY WELL with my family tonight and I loved it too. Jason even took the leftovers back to work with him tonight. This served three adults (2 healthy slices each) with 2 more slices for leftovers, or you could say it provides four servings. 😉

I know a bunch of you out there love meatloaf just the way your mom and whomever else made it, but if you’re one of those like me who prefers not to eat a meaty bread pudding, give my recipe a try.

One thought on “Yummy Meatloaf

  1. Stephanie

    My dad makes an amazing turkey version for me with breadcrumbs or cornflakes, depending on what we have, and no sauce on the top (nothing personal, but hot ketchup sauce makes me want to hork). I can honestly say that after eating my dads meatloaf my whole life, I’m ruined for all other meatloaf forever.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

