Lynchburg Lemonade Tarts

Wowee! These little suckers certainly pack a punch!

As I mentioned previously, I had some grand plans to create some mojito tarts for a barbeque at my friend Melissia’s house yesterday. My plans were nearly foiled when I realized that amidst our $300 stock-up shopping trip to Sam’s Club (most of that will last us more than a month) I had forgotten to buy the rum and mint necessary to a mojito.

The only alcohol we possess is half a bottle of Jack Daniel’s whiskey and a variety pack of Mike’s Hard malt beverages. What on earth can I do with that in the dessert realm? Lynchburg Lemonade!

I began with my lemon curd recipe and changed it as follows:

  • Zest and juice of 2 large lemons
  • One healthy shot of whiskey (2-3 tablespoons)
  • 1 cup of sugar
  • 4 eggs (room temperature is best, but cold will work)
  • 1/2 cup of melted butter

Combine the zest and sugar. Whisk in the lemon juice and whiskey. Add the eggs and mix well. Slowly incorporate the melted butter, I like using my Kitchenaid with the whisk attachment or a food processor works well.

Cook the mixture over a double boiler until it’s thickened. When I make my usual lemon curd for pie, this takes about 5-10 minutes. Having the alcohol involved increases this time to about 20 minutes.

Allow the curd to cool at room temperature for 20-30 minutes and then move to the refrigerator until completely cooled through (should take a few hours). It should have a loose jelly-like consistency.

While the curd cools, make the tart cups.

  • 1/2 cup softened butter
  • 3 tablespoons softened cream cheese
  • 2 tablespoons sugar
  • 2 cups sifted flour
  • 2 tablespoons whiskey (you can substitute vanilla or almond extract if you don’t want to use more alcohol)

Cream the butter, cream cheese, and sugar together. Stir in the whiskey and flour. Chill until firm (about an hour).

Roll the dough into 1/2″ balls (you should get about 36 of them) and press into a greased mini-muffin pan. Bake for 20 minutes until just turning golden brown. The curd recipe makes twice as much as required for the number of cups that you’ll make. You could double the pastry recipe or keep the extra curd in the fridge for up to three weeks.

Allow the cups to cool completely before filling with curd. Enjoy!

I was in a rush getting these out the door to the barbeque yesterday that I forgot to take a photo. Next time I’ll one for sure. They were a big hit at the party!

Leave a Reply

