Menu Plan: June 14

It’s become clear to me that I am not a morning person anymore. I’ve reverted to my night owl tendencies and that’s just the way it’s going to be. I’m cool with that. But it means that I really don’t feel like making breakfast in the morning. Most of the time we have cereal, toast, quick oatmeal (Jeremy and Jason, not I – yuck!), toaster waffles, yogurt, and other quick stuff. Mommy just doesn’t do mornings like I used to. I feel okay with it because I’m at least providing healthy quick options.

For lunches, we wing it. I keep sandwich makings, mac & cheese, fruit, cheese & crackers, and other such lunchy items in the house. It’s a good day when we’ve got leftover soup or dinner. Lunchtime is usually when I’m really getting motivated, so I stop for some kind of pick-me-up and then keep moving.

Dinners, now that’s where I tend to shine. I plan our evening meals because I really love sitting around our dining room table as a family, sharing the food, and spending time together. Since I keep busy during the afternoon, I don’t want to be stuck dumbfounded when it comes time to get dinner together.

Here’s my plan for this week:

Monday, June 14: Pasta with Easy Ragu and green salad.

Tuesday, June 15: Thai Chicken with veggie fried rice. This will be the second time I’m making this recipe. The first time was very good so this time I’m going to take some photos and share the recipe.

Wednesday, June 16: Beef fajitas and green salad.

Thursday, June 17: Balsamic Thyme Chicken with mashed potatoes and carrots. We love love love this recipe! However, I don’t like heating up the oven unless I really have to (especially in the summer), so instead of baking it we let it simmer for 15-20 minutes until the chicken is done. Turns out great and tastes SO GOOD! I’ve never been a fan of balsamic vinegar, but it doesn’t taste vinegary in this application, it’s delicious.

Friday, June 18: Honey-Citrus Pork Chops, white rice, and fried apples. Another new recipe, I’ll share it if it turns out well.

Saturday, June 19: Shepherd’s Pie and cherry cheesecake. Jason requested this meal. I haven’t made cheesecake since I was about 9 or 10 years old and helped my mom do it. Should be interesting! So far we’ve never gone wrong with one of Tammy’s Recipes, so I’m optimistic that I’ll be successful.

Sunday, June 20: It’s Father’s Day! Barbacoa with rice, guacamole, and watermelon.

——-

I’m linking to Menu Plan Monday on Org Junkie. Check out hundreds of menu plans there each week as well as some great organization tips.

Leave a Reply

