Menu Plan: First Week of June

I got back from California around 2 am a week ago but couldn’t bring myself to menu plan right away. Jason had done a good job while I was gone and the house wasn’t completely empty of ingredients for “winging it” meals, so that’s what we did.

However, it’s been a week now and even though I’m still not unpacked or caught up on laundry, we’re in need of a menu so here’s what we’re having this week:

Monday, June 7: Spaghetti Carbonara. This was a new recipe for us and while it was tasty, we agreed it would be better with either more sauce or as a cold pasta salad.

Tuesday, June 8: Chicken Pot Pie Soup. Always a favorite around here.

Wednesday, June 9: Pizza Casserole. This is another new recipe for us. Laura’s family likes it, so I’m betting we will too.

Thursday, June 10: Garlic-Lime Chicken, roasted corn on the cob, and crash hot potatoes. I’m not sure if we’re going to bake the marinated chicken or grill it. Alabama summers bring crazy storms out of the blue, so if it’s raining we’ll bake, if it’s a clear day we’ll grill it. 🙂

Friday, June 11: Hamburgers, carrot sticks, chips & dip. We’re going to be spending the afternoon hauling the last of our for-sale stuff over to our friend’s house for a huge multi-family rummage sale this weekend. I’ll be too pooped out to cook but I suppose I can slice up some carrots and make dip while Jason grills the burgers.

Saturday, June 12: Monterey Chicken. Before bed on Friday I’m going to throw this meal in the crock pot and then just turn it on before we leave for the rummage sale early in the morning. By the time we get home, dinner will be ready and I won’t have to do a thing but pour some drinks.

Sunday, June 13: Beef Stew. Same deal as Saturday. I’ll get everything into the crock pot the night before so we can spend a long day at our 2-day sale.

At some point this week I want to make the Oatmeal Raisin Cookies that Jason’s been asking for as well as a Strawberry Icebox Pie. Cracker Barrel makes a tasty-looking one which reminded me that my friend Melissia made a great one a couple of months ago, so I’m going to attempt it for dessert this weekend.

Leave a Reply

