Tasty Pork Roast

I’d been searching high and low for a good pork roast recipe for a long time. As always, I want something that uses ingredients that I tend to have on hand. Nothing peeves me more than a recipe being listed as “easy” or “simple” when you have to run out to the store for a specialty ingredient.

I found a few recipes that sounded good but each had something listed that I don’t keep around. I swapped the spices that I don’t have with those in other recipes that sounded yummy. After a couple of attempts, I came up with this tasty concoction…

1) Combine the following into a loose paste:

1 Tbl. cumin

1 Tbl. paprika

1 tsp. dried rosemary

1 tsp. chili powder

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. black pepper

1 Tbl. lemon juice

4 cloves minced garlic

1/4 cup oil (olive, canola, or vegetable are all fine)

pork roast paste

2) Take a beautiful pork roast like this one

pork roast naked

and slather it with the seasoned-up oil/paste.

3) Let it rest in the refrigerator for an hour or two to let the oil and seasonings seep into the meat. The paste will look more “set up” as most of the oil

4) Pop it into the oven at 400 degrees until the roast is done. My roast at about 3 pounds took around 90 minutes. It all depends on how big your roast is.

5) Let the meat rest on a cutting board for 10 minutes or so before slicing and serving. Jason and I were so excited with how delicious it smelled that we dug right in and I completely forgot to take a picture of the finished product.

We really enjoyed this meal. The crust on the outside was so flavorful and the inside was very juicy. Hope you like it!

——–

I’m linking this post to Tasty Tuesday over at Balancing Beauty & Bedlam. What a great way to spend a rainy afternoon, browsing the yummy links!

Leave a Reply

