Happy Mother’s Day

First, happy Mother’s Day to all of the moms out there. This is my third Mother’s Day and it has been wonderful so far. I look forward to so many more.

Second, I’d like to share a short personal story. This is my first Mother’s Day spent away from my mom and grandmother. Though I feel very loved by my own boys, it’s tough not being able to hug the two most important women in my life.

This morning was our second time visiting a new church. We are already feeling very welcomed there and enjoy it very much. We sat toward the middle of the sanctuary this week instead of at the rear like last week. When the pastor asked all the mothers to stand to be recognized, some nearby women took notice of the sweetly sleeping baby that I held and they gushed over him. As we sang during the offering, an old woman appearing in her late 80s crossed the church, came over to us, and gave Jesse and I a warm hug.

I didn’t think I’d remember the smell of my great-grandmother’s perfume. She passed away almost four years ago. I miss her so very much. I think about her daily and wish that she could have lived to see her great-great-grandchildren. Jeremy was the first of his generation in my extended family and Mimi passed just three days before he was born. Jeremy has her baby blue eyes.

Jen's Mimi

The lovely stranger who hugged us smelling just like my Mimi brought wonderful memories to the surface and happy tears to my eyes. It was more than the perfume. She dressed very much the way Mimi did on church days, had the same curly white cottonball hairdo, and the thin elderly soft skin of her hand on my cheek was just the same. I don’t know whether that sweet lady realizes just how much that quick hug meant to me today, but I hope with all my heart that she has some family to show her love today like I wish I could to my mom, Nana, and Mimi.

2 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day

  1. Linda Lundgren

    Hello Jen,
    Happy Mother’s Day. Although you didn’t get to share Mother’s Day with the women in your life, you were very fortunate to spend it with the men in your life… Jason, Jeremy and Jesse! Three great guys in your life.

    I’m glad you have found a church you feel comfortable. We have also just found a new church in Upland that the boys really like. It’s very small and has an older congregation, but the we really like the Pastor.

    I know exactly how you feel about missing Mimi. I love what you wrote about her, just like I remember too. I think of her often.

    Take care of your little boys.
    See you end of May.

    Love,
    Aunt Linda

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Thanks Aunt Linda. I hope you had a great Mother’s Day. Jason and my boys gave me a really terrific day and that little old woman really topped it off bringing up some sweet memories. I count my lucky stars that I’ve got my own little family. I can hardly wait to introduce you all to my new little guy!

      It’s so nice to find a home church. Neither Jason or I had gone regularly in a long time back in California but when we got married we both felt very strongly that we wanted to bring our faith back into our lives – for ourselves and our kids.

      See you in a few weeks!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

