Menu Plan: Month of March 2010

I am so excited for March… my favorite guy under 5 feet tall is coming home!! Jeremy’s been with his dad in California since New Year’s Eve and he’s finally coming home on March 15th. I can hardly contain myself!

I’ve been slacking on paying proper attention to this blog. I’m very sorry and fully intend to begin writing and posting more. I’m sure I’ll have plenty to write about with Jeremy coming home and Jason and I getting ready for our new addition coming to join the family sometime in the next 3-6 weeks.

I had Jason help me with the menu plan this month. He ruminated over last month’s meals and wracked his memory for things I haven’t made in a while then made me a list of things he wanted me to incorporate into March’s menu. I’m taking it easy this month and only trying out four new recipes. As I’m currently half-way through my eighth month of pregnancy and things only get more uncomfortable and exhausting from now on to the end, I didn’t want to take on too much. However, we’ve got some of our favorites planned for this month and as we have a few repeats there is room for changes if I come across a new recipe that I simply must try in the coming weeks.

Without further ado, here is our menu for March:

Breakfast:
Rotation of cold cereal, bagels, oatmeal, eggs & toast, waffles, and muffins.

Lunch:
Various sandwiches (grilled cheese, tuna salad, PB&J, cold cuts), macaroni & cheese, quesadillas, and leftovers.

Dinners:
1st: French Onion Steak Stew (this is new, I’ll share the recipe if it turns out good).
2nd: Chicken Pot Pie Soup & cheese biscuits
3rd: Meatballs (I want to get my friend Melissia’s recipe) with mashed potatoes and corn.
4th: Orange Chicken with veggie fried rice
5th: Beef Stew with Rosemary Rolls
6th: BBQ Cheesy Chicken with Rice-a-Roni and carrots
7th: Spaghetti with meat sauce and garlic bread
8th: Cheese Enchiladas and rice
9th: Homemade Pizza with ground beef & pepperoni
10th: Baked Potato Soup and fresh bread
11th: Chicken Fried Steak with rice and peas
12th: Monterey Chicken with roasted red potatoes and corn
13th: Ree’s Perfect Pot Roast with mashed potatoes and carrots
14th: Balsamic Thyme Chicken with rice and corn (We tried this for the first time in February and it was a huge hit with my family.)
15th: Jeremy is coming home late in the afternoon and we’ll be taking him out to dinner.
16th: Drip Beef with fried potatoes and baked apples
17th: Quesadillas with guacamole and corn chips
18th: Garlic Pepper Chicken with creamy parmesan pasta and carrots
19th: Hamburgers with Crash Potatoes
20th: Country Ribs (not sure if they’ll be done on the grill or in my crock pot) with baked potatoes and corn on the cob
21st: Chicken Pot Pie Soup and cornbread
22nd: Meatloaf (surprisingly enough, I’ve never made a meatloaf, anyone have a good recipe?) with Potatoes Au Gratin and carrots
23rd: Pulled Pork with rosemary roasted potatoes and peas
24th: Lemon Pepper Chicken with rice and corn
25th: Beef Stroganoff with egg noodles and carrots
26th: BBQ Cheesy Chicken with Rice-a-Roni and carrots
27th: Grilled sirloin steaks with baked potatoes and corn on the cob
28th: Cheese Enchiladas and rice
29th: Tacos and potato wedges
30th: Orange Chicken with veggie fried rice
31st: Beef fajitas and rice

That’s it for this month. Jason and I scored a great deal at a local butcher shop for a TON of meat. I’m using up the best pieces this month but there will be some carryover to future months which will help out our food budgets then. I’ll write more about that another day.

Leave a Reply

