Mimi’s Brownies

I was informed that Jason was going to have a pot-luck at work tonight. Last time he forgot to tell me until the day of the event, so this time I got a few days notice. I used those few days to think about what I wanted to make and got all worked up to bake. Then he told me last night that the cook-out was postponed to next week. 😦 But I have the urge to bake!

I ate the last piece of the weekend’s apple pie last night and knew for certain that my third trimester pregnancy cravings would demand sweets tonight. So I went rummaging through my great grandmother’s recipe box again and came up with her scratch-made brownies.

1 cup butter
2 cups sugar
2 tsp vanilla extract
4 eggs
3/4 cup cocoa
1 cup all-purpose flour
1/2 tsp baking powder
1/4 tsp salt
1 cup chopped nuts or chocolate chips (optional)

Preheat your oven to 350 degrees and grease a 13×9″ baking pan.

Melt the butter and stir in sugar and vanilla. Add the eggs, one at a time, stirring well after each addition. Add the cocoa and stir slowly until completely blended. Stir in the flour, baking powder, and salt. Lastly add the nuts or chocolate chips, if you want.

Pour the batter into the pan and bake for 30 – 35 minutes until brownies pull away from the sides of the pan. (A toothpick test will yield overbaked brownies because these are very fudgy. A little gooeyness on a toothpick is normal and will cook out as the brownies cool in the pan.) My photo above is deceiving, they don’t appear as thick as they really are. When they bake up they’re about 1 1/2″ thick, yum! I don’t know about you, but I’m not a fan of thin brownies that crisp up like a cracker. Give me thick, moist, fudgy brownies.

My favorite way to enjoy one of Mimi’s brownies… Warm from the oven, laden with walnuts, served up in a bowl with vanilla ice cream and sliced strawberries. Yummy!

These are so SO much better than box mixes and take just two more minutes to stir up – well worth your time. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Mimi’s Brownies

  1. Jacque

    Oh, nevermind! I just saw when you posted this! Bahahaha! I thought to myself…. Man, she looks awesome for being in her third trimester! LOL

    Reply
  2. Jennifer Medlock Post author

    Haha! You’re hilarious Jacque. If I was in my third trimester now that would be one itty bitty baby!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

