Menu Planning 101: Assignment 1

Last week, The Happy Housewife challenged her readers to an assignment. She’s starting a series on how to menu plan and this first assignment was for each reader to come up with a list of 15 meals that their family wanted to eat.

Now, I’ve been menu-planning for just about a year now and have really enjoyed it (even though I have often forgotten to post our menus online). I do a week-by-week, Monday through Sunday plan. Depending on our available funds when I’m planning out the week, sometimes I make a list and shop for everything I need to make the meals I chose, and sometimes (when we’re broke) I plan meals around what’s already in our pantry/freezer/fridge. So far, my “fly by the seat of my pants” menu-planning method has been working for us, but since we just recently switched from two incomes to one, and from a 3-person household to a 5-person (and by next spring, 6-person), what I hope to get from Toni’s Menu Planning 101 series is to go from a weekly menu plan to a monthly plan and learn how to make our planning more frugal by stretching our meat with more vegetables and meatless meals.

After a week of thinking and polling my household, here are my family’s 15 favorite meals:

  1. Chicken Noodle Soup
  2. Chicken Pot Pie
  3. Beef Stew
  4. Enchiladas (most of us prefer plain cheese variety)
  5. Tacos
  6. Pot Roast
  7. Grilled Italian Chicken
  8. Pasta with Red Sauce (doesn’t matter what shape of pasta or what meat in the sauce)
  9. Grilled Hamburgers
  10. Pizza
  11. Smothered Chicken
  12. Shake & Bake Pork Chops
  13. Baked Ziti
  14. Pork Roast
  15. Monterey Chicken with Bacon and Cheese topping

Now what Toni?

7 thoughts on “Menu Planning 101: Assignment 1

    1. Jen Post author

      Thanks Jill! I’ve been following her for a few months now. I love her posts. It’s neat that I know someone else who reads her too!

      Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Aww, thanks! I try to make some yummy things. Usually they’re hits, but I’ve had my fair share of misses as well.

      Reply
  1. Jen Post author

    @Toni, I haven’t posted the recipe before, but I should! It’s super simple and can be done either in a big skillet or the crock pot! I’ll get right on that post today, after I link up with your next part of Menu Planning 101 of course.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

