Potato Cheese Casserole

I have to give credit where credit is due… I did not make up this recipe on my own. It started with a recipe that my ex-husband’s step mother made one Christmas. She gave me the recipe from an decades old church cookbook. Over the past three years or so I’ve made a few changes of my own and thought I had it just right. That is, until I read another recipe (I’ve since lost the link) which incorporated cottage cheese. Yum! I changed my recipe around again and dare I say it’s amazing.

After I finished tweaking my recipe about a year ago, I started reading Amy’s Finer Things and one of the first recipes that I read on Amy’s blog was Cheesy Potato Casserole. How coincidental is it that we both came up with almost the exact same recipe starting from completely different sources, living in totally different states, without a single thing tying the two of us together?

I’ve made Amy’s recipe, and it is really delicious, but I keep falling back on my own because I love the extra peppery kick and the slight tartness that comes from the cottage cheese. Kudos to Amy for a fantastic casserole, but there’s always room for two!

Step 1: Stir together the following:

  • 1 thawed 2-pound bag of frozen O’Brien potatoes (with the peppers and onions included)
  • 2 cups of shredded cheese (I use mild cheddar or mexican blend, whatever I have on hand)
  • 1/2 cup of sour cream
  • 1 cup of cottage cheese
  • 1 can cream of chicken soup (half of Tammy’s homemade recipe works perfectly in this casserole, or you could always fall back on the canned)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. black pepper

Step 2: Spread the mixture into a 9×13″ baking dish.

Step 3: Bake at 350° for 45 minutes. Transfer to broiler for 2-3 minutes to crisp up the top.

Step 4: Allow to cool for 10 minutes before serving.

This casserole makes a whole lot and is so rich that a small portion is great as a side dish alongside beef, chicken, or pork. When it was just my husband and I enjoying this dish, we’d heat it up for days later. It’s one of those few meals that heats up for lunch without tasting like leftovers. Yum!

________________
This post is linked to Amy’s Finer Things Friday. How is that? Well, I think it’s a real finer thing to have two really fabulous cheesy potato casseroles coincidentally created by two different ladies at different times that turn out equally tasty.

One thought on “Potato Cheese Casserole

Leave a Reply

