Friends for Dinner… Help!!

Jason informed me just this afternoon that we are having friends for dinner on Saturday. I haven’t met Jason’s work friend or his wife, but I’ve heard nice things about them. Apparently the guys worked together in San Diego (my husband’s last unit which we just moved from) and the couple are still newlyweds (though longer than us).

I’m very excited to have people over to our new home. Also, as I told Jason, this was probably one of the best things he could have done for me in order to get me to finish unpacking our house. I’ve gotta get busy tomorrow to whip my front room and dining room into shape.

How convenient is it that the awesome dinner I had planned for tonight didn’t work out for today? I had forgotten to defrost the pork and the recipe takes 18 hours in the crock pot, so I mentally switched today’s planned meal with tomorrow’s (cheese enchiladas). As I was getting busy preparing the enchiladas, Jason came home and told me about our guests for the weekend. Well, I couldn’t very well serve them the Saturday-planned hamburgers and fries, so that got switched to Sunday, we’re taking my mother-in-law out to dinner for her birthday tomorrow, and Saturday is going to be our super awesome dinner that I had planned for today and forgot to get set up ahead of time.

Now that I’ve led you to the edge of your seat, what are we having?

The only thing I need help with is deciding on dessert. I’ve got a lot of fresh fruit hanging out in my kitchen, so there are lots of options:

  • Apple Blueberry Cobbler
  • Homemade Sweet Biscuits with Strawberries
  • Individual Molten Chocolate Cakes (with Strawberry garnishes)
  • Lemon Pie
  • Homemade Strawberry or Blueberry or Chocolate Ice Cream (in our brand new ice cream maker)

Given my barbeque menu above, does anyone have suggestions for dessert, or votes for anything listed above?

2 thoughts on “Friends for Dinner… Help!!

  1. Brian

    I say you should go for the Apple Blueberry Cobbler! Think about it: What goes better with BBQ? Cobbler!

    Thats my vote and I’m sticking to it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

