Jen’s Lemon Pie

As my very first post on my brand new blog, I’d like to share my absolute favorite pie in the entire world. I love Baker’s Square’s Lemon Supreme Pie, I go wild for it. Unfortunately, the closest Baker’s Square is a few cities away from where I live now and I can’t just take a walk to get a slice of pie like I could when I was a kid. So, I decided to make a copycat recipe. I must say, my first attempt was fantastic! I hit it on the nose on the first try. Without further ado, here is my recipe for the very best lemon pie you’ll ever eat.

 

This pie is created in three layers: crust, cream, lemon curd (with a little whipped cream for garnish).

Layer 1: A Simple Pie Shell, 9″ or 10″.

You can use a boxed mix, your grandma’s recipe, (LifeasMom’s Gramma John’s Pie Crust is really fantastic), prebaked, or the refrigerated kind that you unroll and put in the pan. Whichever crust option you choose, just make sure you let it get completely cool before adding the next layer.

 

Layer 2: The Cream Filling.

– 8 oz. of softened cream cheese

– 8 oz. of frozen Cool Whip

– 1/2 cup of granulated sugar

First of all, please please please do not use light or fat free cream cheese or Cool Whip. You need the full fat versions of both of these or else your cream filling won’t set up correctly. I’m not pretending this is a diet pie, so just go with the full fat stuff. Read to the end of this post to see why I caution you here.

Beat the cream cheese and sugar in your mixer.

Fold in the Cool Whip until just incorporated. Do this by hand to keep from overmixing or it’ll get too thin. Just get the big lumps out, it’ll all come together and be delicious in the end.

Spread the mixture into the baked and cooled pie shell.

 

Layer 3: Lemon Curd.

– Zest and juice of 3 large lemons

– 1 cup of sugar

– 4 eggs

– 1/2 cup of melted butter

Whisk together all of the curd ingredients. (Yeah, my butter wasn’t completely melted. It’s alright, the little pieces will all melt in a minute.)

This is how is looks at first. Notice the very light smear of liquid and zest on the edges of the bowl. Continue whisking and cook over a double boiler for 5 minutes or until the mixture is thickened.

This is how it will look when it’s finished cooking. Notice the shiny smooth surface and the much thicker coating on the edges of the bowl. Perfect.

Allow it to cool for 10-20 minutes on the counter before moving to the refrigerator. Once it is completely chilled, spread the curd over the cream layer.

Refrigerate the entire pie for at least 15 minutes (longer is better if you can stand to wait) before serving.

I also like to add a ring of whipped cream rosettes around the outside of the pie. It dresses up the edge and creates a nice finished look.

Gorgeous, just gorgeous!

This is how it should look inside with a nice heaping slice now residing in your belly. See how the cream filling is all set up and beautiful? This is right, very very right.

This, however, is wrong. All wrong.

Remember when I told you that you absolutely must use full fat cream cheese and Cool Whip? Well this is exactly why. Without enough fat in the cream layer, the filling won’t set up correctly no matter how long you refrigerate it. As soon as you take out a slice, the curd will slide down due to not enough support from the cream layer and your whole pie will be a smush. It tastes just fine, but it’s not pretty. If you’re going to try for a low-fat version, you might as well just toss some vanilla ice cream in a bowl and top it with the lemon curd because that’s exactly what your pie will look like. Now, the curd tastes just delicious on some ice cream, but we’re making pie here. 😉

 

I hope you make my favorite pie and enjoy it as much as I do. It’s been fun chronicling the how-to for you.


This post is linked to Amy’s Finer Things Friday.

9 thoughts on “Jen’s Lemon Pie

  1. Sherry

    Congrats on your new blog! 😀

    I love me some pie and even though it didn’t set up, it definitely looks and I’m sure tastes delish!!

    Reply
    1. Jen Post author

      Thanks Sherry! The pie has set up and been beautiful every time I’ve made it, except that one time I tried to make a low fat version. Whew, disaster! I always do the full fat way from now on.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

